Essay Contest

     Abstinence Page  
Main Abstinence Essay/Public Health Perspective Essay Contest Page 
2018 Contest      2017 Contest      2016 Contest       2015 Contest
     2014 Contest            2013 Contest       2012 Contest       2011 Contest       2010 Contest      2009 Contest     
     2008 Contest       2007 Contest       2006 Contest       2005 Contest      2004 Contest      2003 Contest  

     2014 Public Health Perspective Essay Contest    1st Place      2nd Place      3rd Place

2014 Public Health Perspective Essay Contest

The 12th annual Teen Public Health Perspective has been sponsored by the Wayne County Board of Health in partnership with the Wayne County Health Department and the Wayne Council on Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention.

The 2014 annual essay contest has expanded from the Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention focus to capture the Teen Public Health Perspective. The students wrote essays on public health topics that reflected an issue in our county and provided possible solutions to resolve it. Topics focused on either: abstinence, chronic disease, mental health, health care cost or environmental health.

Sponsorship from the Board of Health contributed to the First place winner receiving a $1,000 scholarship and a $75 gift card, Second place winner receiving a $500 scholarship and $50 gift card. Third place winner receiving a $300 scholarship and $50 gift card.

Pictured above (from left) are Mr. Brent Breedlove , 1st place winner, Rosewood High School (2014 Graduate) Rising Methodist University Biology Major, Ta-Kisha Darden, Health Education Specialist, and Aimée Barnes - 2nd place winner, Wayne Country Day School (Rising Sophomore)

Pictured above (from left) are Davin Madden, Wayne County Health Director, Mr. André Elliot Jr., 3rd place winner (Wayne Early Middle College High School (2014 Graduate) Rising UNC Wilmington Sociology Major) and Ta-Kisha Darden, Health Education Specialist

Essay Judges and Pictured from Left to right: Ava Crawford, Steve Anderson, Vandora Barrett, Ta-Kisha Darden (Students Brent Breedlove & Aimée Barnes) Jackie Leverette, L.J. Stanley, Celita Graham and LaTerrie Ward (Judges not present Tamara Baltazar, Kendall Freeman, Sharon Thompson, Suzanne Lewis, and Pam Anderson)